WHS Students and Staff Recognized for Excellence at Early Breakfast

Post date: Nov 05, 2013 7:49:12 PM

Wells High School hosted its first “Breakfast of Champions” for the current school year on Friday, November 1st. Five students and ten staff members were invited to attend the 7:00 a.m. event.

Invitees gathered before the start of school in the library to be recognized for their contributions to the learning and social environments of WHS. Principal Jim Daly and Activities Director Jack Molloy presented each with a certificate and red lettered t-shirt.

“It’s our way of giving back; saying thank you for doing great deeds,” said Principal Daly of Breakfast of Champions. “Everybody here was recognized by somebody else. We’re lucky. We got great kids, we got staff members that are dedicated and the reason why our high school is doing as well is because of the folks that are in it. I appreciate everything that they’re doing.”

Those recognized as school ‘Champions’ included: Ms. Sherri Anderson-Wormwood, Sierra Daney, Emilie Dow, Coach Kevin Fox, Coach Jennifer Lewia, Coach Mark Lewia, Charles Mahar, Mrs. Tari Matthews, Mr. Jay Moore, Mr. John Murray, Chad Newcomb, Mr. Jeré Pierce, Mrs. Karen Quint, Coach Tim Roche and Ryan Shackford.

To be honored at this breakfast one has to be nominated by a coach, teacher or staff member. There are three of these breakfast events held each school year.

Breakfast of Champions was instituted at Wells High School in 2007 by Principal Daly. Each of these events is organized by Mr. Daly and Mrs. Lagasse.

Photo caption: Students and staff that attended the first Breakfast of Champions for the 2013-2014 school year at Wells High School on November 1, 2013. In the back row (l to r) is Jay Moore, Mark Lewia, Tim Roche, and Kevin Fox. In the front row (l to r) is Jen Lewia, Karen Quint, Charles Mahar (student), Sierra Daney (student) and Ryan Shackford (student).