WHS Honors Students and Staff at Early Morning Gathering

Post date: Oct 26, 2012 1:52:54 PM

Wells High School hosted its first “Breakfast of Champions” for 2012-2013 on October 26th. Twenty-five students and eleven staff members were invited.

Invitees gathered before the start of school in the library to be recognized for their noted efforts to contribute to the learning and social environment at WHS. Each received introductory comments from one of three presenters: Principal Jim Daly, Activities Director Jack Molloy and teacher Jay Moore. A certificate and red lettered t-shirt was given to each recipient.

Honored were Ms. Sherri Anderson-Wormwood, Tyler Bartlett, Ms. Ann Bechan, Morgan Brewster, Chad Daly, Kaitlyn Dinmore, Jason Doane, Ali Duplisea, Ms. Brenda Dyer, Ashley Green, Jack Hahn, Olivia Holdsworth, Alexis Lambert, Kelly Leger, Angela Leone, Ms. Katelyn Lewia, Kate Macolini, Elise McCormack-Kuhman, Cameron McMahon, Nicole Moody, Mr. Jay Moore, Mr. Steve Newton, Mrs. Cheryl Oakes, Mr. Kevin O’Shaughnessy, Ms. Pam Parrott, Ms. Barbara Provencher, Casey Pyburn, Daniel Quint, Tyler Robichaud, Holly Robinson, Sydney Robinson, Sam Sayward, Sage Sierra, Madeline Taylor, Mrs. Vanessa White-Capelluti, and Kelcie Wood.

“I think it was an outstanding morning,” said teacher Jay Moore, one of the presenters who pointed out that this was the largest group of students and staff to be recognized as school champions. “As Mr. Daly said, we have excellent students here at Wells High School. They’re doing extraordinary things every day.”

To be honored at this breakfast one has to be nominated by a coach, teacher or staff member. Freshman Kelly Leger is perhaps a typical recipient. She was nominated by her teacher Kevin O’Shaughnessy. “When she is assigned group work, she works hard to ensure everyone participates and gets the job done,” commented O’Shaughnessy for Leger’s nomination.

“I am very excited and very happy that I got it,” said Leger whose mother was with her. According to Administrative Secretary to the Principal Lil Lagasse about 90 percent of student recipients were accompanied to the breakfast by at least one parent.

Breakfast of Champions was instituted at the school in 2007 by Principal Daly. Each of these events is organized by Mr. Daly and Mrs. Lagasse.

Photo caption: Students and staff recognized for positive contributions to Wells High School on October 26, 2012.