Wells-Ogunquit CSD recognizes retiring staff and those with 20 years of service

Post date: Jun 19, 2017 10:50:8 AM

The end of the 2016-2017 school year in the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District (WOCSD) finds 12 staff members retiring and six other staff reaching the 20-year milestone of service to the District. All of these individuals were honored in a “Service to Education Celebration” event at Wells High School on June 15th.

Following a reception for these colleagues, WOCSD Superintendent Jim Daly and the District’s three school principals Christopher Roche (WES), Robert Griffin (WJHS) and Eileen Sheehy (WHS) recognized these individuals with comments and gift bags.

Those retiring include Cathy Abbott (22 years of service), Jay Audet (34 years), Sue Cayford (5 years), Beth Cilluffo (12 years), Sharon Crippen (12 years), Paula Edmonds (2 years), Lil Lagasse (24 years), MaryEllen McEvoy (20 years), Alice Meader (40 years), Gerry Randall (18 years), Arlie VanNatta (13 years), and Bob Winn (34 years).

Those recognized for reaching 20 years of service to the District included Martha Brown, Judi Dion, Marcy Dzamba, Marcia Millian, Cheryl Oakes and Clarissa Sweeney.

“We have a great school district, great teachers, great support staff and custodians, tremendous secretaries, great kids and a great community,” said Superintendent Daly in his closing remarks to the retirees and other Distrust staff in the audience. Daly thanked those honored on behalf of the WOCSD School Committee and wished everyone a great summer. He implored all to take more time to enjoy life.

WOCSD staff in the back row are (l to r) MaryEllen McEvoy, Alice Meader, Martha Brown, Marcy Dzamba, Marcia Millian, Lil Lagasse, Clarissa Sweeney, Sharon Crippen, Sue Cayford, and Judi Dion. Front row (l to r): Jay Audet, Cathy Abbott, Bob Winn, Arlie VanNatta, and Gerry Randall

WJHS Principal Robert Griffin (center) honoring retiring teacher Alice Meader who began teaching at Wells Junior High School in 1977. Griffin noted that Meader, has taught under nine superintendents. Superintendent Jim Daly is at far left.