Wells Elementary School recognizes its good citizens

Post date: Feb 08, 2017 2:13:23 PM

On January 20th, Wells Elementary School held its first Breakfast of Champions to honor 30 of its students who have demonstrated the school’s core values in interacting with their fellow students and school staff. Those values include respect, responsibility, honesty, trustworthiness, and compassion towards others and their school.

After the breakfast, WES Principal Christopher Roche gave each student a certificate of recognition and a special sticker to wear throughout the school day.

According to Roche, the Breakfast of Champions concept was brought to the Wells-Ogunquit CSD by Superintendent Jim Daly (then principal at Wells High School) in 2007 when he instituted the celebration at the high school.

“It is an opportunity to recognize students who have exemplified the core values of WES and (the) WOCSD,” commented Roche. “One Friday per month, students (will) join our administrative staff and their parents for breakfast as we announce their great contributions to the learning community as well as the school climate at WES. It is a tremendous event and Mr. Spinney and I look forward to this each month!"

“We are very proud of our students for exhibiting core values in many different ways that make the culture what it is at Wells Elementary School,” commented WES Assistant Principal Ken Spinney. “We are proud of them.”

Those honored for the month of December included Grady Manning, Addison Greene, Luke Boucher, Mason Gatcomb, Joshua Corbett, Breanna Hill, Camron Chaloux, Ava Wheeler, Evan Suitter, Tanner Tufts, Francesca MacEwen, Hailey Worthing, Drew McLaughlin, Payton Fazzina, Hunter Sturmer, Norah Donnell, Aiden Duell, Nate DeMauro, Isabella Leslie, Chase Lunetta, Scarlet Arbelo, Reese Murphy, Claudio Watson, Evan Peterson, Bella Smith, Kendall Ball, Camille Decato, Honey Conley, Jonathan Martinez, and Christopher Buckley.

WES students recognized on January 20th at the first WES Breakfast of Champions