Wells Elementary School recognizes its compassionate "champions"

Post date: Mar 01, 2018 12:31:34 PM

On February 15th, Wells Elementary School held its second "Breakfast of Champions" for the 2017-18 school year. This time around, 61 first through fourth-grade students were recognized for demonstrating in school one or more of the school's core values.

According to WES Principal April Noble, these values include honesty, responsibility, respect, and compassion. Parents and guests also attended the event. Following the breakfast, the honorees received a certificate of recognition and a special sticker to wear throughout the school day.

After the event, Principal Noble indicated that "compassion" seemed to be the dominant value highlighted and honored among this group of students.

"I think overall, there as a lot of compassion," said Noble. "I think one of the things happening in a lot of our classrooms is recognizing kindness. Students are going above and beyond to be kind. That is something we hope children will just intrinsically have as a value, but, in order to boost and increase that, we've decided to recognize that one as appropriate."

According to Noble, any WES staff member witnessing a student who routinely employs one or more of the school's core values in interaction with others can select that student to attend the breakfast and be recognized. Selection may also be based on just one "above and beyond" instance of genuinely demonstrating one of the core values. The next Breakfast of Champions will be held later in the spring towards the end of the school's third trimester.

Those honored as champions included Owen Avery, Kevin Bolduc, Calob Brouillard, Jacy Brown, Willliam Burke, Madelyn Campbell, Juliette Carbonneau, Ella Caron, London Chadwick, Emily Chick, Luke Chrimes, Zoe Coleman, Alivia Collin, Isla Collins, Amelia Connor, Ben Copleman, Joshua Corbett, Arianna Cote, Thomas Cote, Lilly Desmarais, Mia DeMauro, Livia DiDomenicantonio, Adriana Ducharme, Isabella Fagle, Payton Fazzina, Hazel Graffam, Ben Gross, Lily Hamilton, Hayden Hludik, Andrew Hubacz, Devan Jones, Trevor Knight, Maddox Koh, Scarlett Lantz, Helen Lee, Amelia Lucas, Evelina Lucas, Matti Mattuchio, Elliott Meggs, Megyn Mertens, Cal Moody, Caleb Moody, Carter Moody, Camden Mosher, Grayson Mosher, Ashley Morrell, Mila Mustacka, Joseph Nawfel, Kaelyn Newman, Jacob Ouellet, Lincoln Polacke, Jackson Pollard, Bohdan Reeck, Jasper Roy, Jacoby Ryder, Gauge Shepard, Ariella Springer, Colin Vaillancourt, Lexi Webb, Arlo Worcester, Hailey Worthing and Nicole Yandell.

First through fourth-grade students recognized recently for demonstrating Wells Elementary School's core values.