Literary Achievement Award winners announced

Post date: Apr 18, 2013 7:53:38 PM

The judging has been completed and the anticipation is over as the winners in the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District’s 27th Annual Literary Achievement Awards have been announced. This year there were 249 entries in the writing contest.

The winner in the 12th Grade Category is senior Kaitlin Devlin who will receive the top prize of $500. Other first place winners who will receive $100 include Bobby Lucas (Kindergarten), Devon Jarosz (1st Grade), Alivia Boucher (2nd), Grace Boucher (3rd), Hannah Tufts (4th), Savannah Wilder (5th), Zoe Angelakis (6th), Erin Clawson (7th), Allison Jarvis (8th), Mathew Healey (9th), Aliah Clay (10th), Cassidy Healey (11th) and Cheryl Boggs (Adult Ed).

Second Place, Third Place and Honorable Mention winners are as follows in respective order arranged by grade level. In Kindergarten they are Kendall Maxon (Second Place), Emma Houston (Third Place), Maren Maxon (Honorable Mention) and Ellie Moore (Honorable Mention). First Grade: Riley Nichols, Brian Stevens, Brooks Fox, and Cameron Mahoney; Second Grade: Kambrie Thompson, Kourtney Kenyon, Emily DeSimone, and Sara Hayden; Third Grade: Riley Hansen, Ava Tavares, Rosemary Norton and Dylan Roche; Fourth Grade: Patrick Heyland, Victoria Hayward, Antonia MacEwen, Jonah Potter; Fifth Grade: Sam Strange, Michael Patnaude, Claire Brown and Alex Willette; Sixth Grade: Parker McDermott, Emma White, Gary Andrews and Karissa Kenyon; Seventh Grade: Anya Chase, Olivia Durfee and Patrick Dinsmore; Eighth Grade: Danielle Jarosz, Amber Therrien, Taylor Fields, Savannah Martin; Ninth Grade: Anna Libby, Emily Mott, Tamar Cimerian and Sam Onion; Tenth Grade: Julianne Fitzpatrick, Sarah Berger, Sarah Clawson and Sydney Robinson; Eleventh Grade: Caileigh Clark, Elizabeth Thompson, Anthony Crawford and Jasmine Loukola; and Twelfth Grade: Zoë Onion, Madeline Andrews, Madison Moore and Kristy Turnbull.

Students who enter this contest display a wide variety of writing styles and genres including poetry. The writings are judged at two levels. A large group of in-house judges (teachers and administrators) have the first look at all of the entries. During this stage about half of the entries are eliminated. The remaining entries are presented to a second panel consisting of ‘community’ judges who make the final picks.

Students who receive first, second, third place or honorable mention in the various grade levels are invited to receive their prizes and read a portion of their writing before an audience at an awards ceremony to be held April 25th at 6:30 p.m. in the Olenn Auditorium at Wells High School.

The contest is organized and sponsored by the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District and the Rotary Club of Wells. Prizes include $100 for those who place first, $50 for second and $25 for third. Those who receive Honorable Mention receive a gift certificate to the Steakhouse in Wells courtesy of the Sibleys at the Steakhouse.

In the photograph are the community judges for the 27th Annual Literary Awards Contest. In front (l to r) are Marilyn Cate, Mary Goulland, Diana Abbott. John Madden, Mark Mullane, Jack Ford, and Carolyn Walker. In back are Donna Thompson and Ina Toth.