Championship team members and coaches recognized by school committee

Post date: Dec 19, 2018 12:23:46 PM

In the Ward Gymnasium on December 5th, the Wells-Ogunquit CSD School Committee recognized the Wells High School Warriors football team and coaching staff for their recent successful season culminating in November when they won their third consecutive Class D state football championship.

Head coach Timothy Roche was the first to be recognized by the Committee for being named Maine State Coach of the Year, 2017-2018 by the Federation of State High School Associations and the Maine Principal’s Association. Coach Roche then gave Wells-Ogunquit CSD Superintendent Jim Daly one of three footballs used in this year’s championship game with Foxcroft Academy. “…this ball was a touchdown ball presented to Mr. Daly in appreciation of all he does, not only for Wells Football, but for our District,” commented Roche later.

Next, members of Roche’s coaching staff were recognized for their leadership and commitment to the team. They included Mark Lewia, Kevin Fox, Carmen Perri, Rob Berry, John Bucci, Shane Daly, and Chad Daly.

Then, one by one, the Warriors team was called to the front to receive their own Certificate of Recognition.

Team members included Nathan Coleman, Brayden Fazzina, Brady Fox, Daniel Marquis, Aaron Patnaude, Dan Swanick, Mike Thiffault, Jonathan Brown, Evan Cash, Craig Chase, Connor Lavigne, Jonah Potter, Devin Chace, Evan Leach, Payton MacKay, Braeden MacNeill, Joshua Martinez, Matt Ouellette, Brian Roberts, Jacob Scott, Zach Steere, Henry Thiffault, Matt Tufts, Gary Andrews, Tyler Bridge, Nate Curtis, Matt Sherburne, Morgan Welch-Thompson, Dylan Whitney, Trevor Bickford, Colby Bolduc, Pierce George, Trent Gibson, Ethan Kenney, Jacob Marshall, Dasani Orben, James Wirths, Zachary Bourque, Mason Jones, Lucas Randall, Kai Rosenberg, Sam Strange and Kyle Bourque.

The 2018 WHS Warriors Football team along with coaches

WOCSD School Committee Chair Helena Ackerson, Superintendent Jim Daly and Tim Roche. “It is a great honor,” commented Roche of being named Coach of the Year. “I now move on to the District 1 Football Coach of the Year voting which includes all of New England and NY,” commented Roche for this article.