An entire “team” selected to receive Student-Athlete of the Month

Post date: Jan 08, 2019 5:18:12 PM

For the past 12 years, the Student-Athlete of the Month award program at Wells High School has been a singular award honoring just one standout student-athlete each month over a typical school year. However, with the Warriors football team achieving its remarkable third consecutive Class B state championship win, WHS administrators and sponsors of the award took the unusual step to declare the entire Wells Warriors team Athletes of the Month for November of 2018.

Five senior players accepted this recognition on behalf of the team in the Ward Gymnasium on December 21. Members included Nate Curtis, Morgan Welch-Thompson, Matt Sherburne, Tyler Bridge, and Dylan Whitney. Recognizing the team were Wells-Ogunquit Director of Athletics 6-12 Pierce Cole, Pam Moody-Maxon, and John C. Kreie. Moody Maxon Real Estate and the Cole Harrison Insurance Agency (of which Kreie represents here at WHS) are sponsors of this award.

“It’s a great honor. We appreciate it,” commented Warriors Coach Timothy Roche of his team receiving the award. “What a great group of kids. They worked hard all season and they deserve anything they get,” said Roche who was named 2017-2018 Maine State Football Coach of the Year by the NFHS and MPA. “I am proud of everybody.” Roche indicated that he believes that only five Maine football teams, since records have been kept, have won a state football championship three years in a row.

“This year’s football team certainly gave this community something to cheer about.” commented Moody-Maxon. “They are a great group of kids who are respectful on and off the field. They worked very hard in the summer, were in the gym year-round to get stronger and these efforts caused them to be a force on the field.” She added, “We chose to give the award to the entire team simply because there is no “I” in team and they all worked together to become State Champions!”

Moody-Maxon says the Student-Athlete of the Month plaque for November 2018 was created to honor the entire 2018 football team. She says it will be displayed in the school’s trophy case at the entrance to the gym.

From the left are Pierce Cole, Tim Roche, Nate Curtis, Morgan Welch-Thompson, Matt Sherburne, Tyler Bridge, Dylan Whitney, John C. Kreie, and Pam Moody-Maxon.