2015 Literary Achievement Winners Announced

Post date: Apr 22, 2015 9:57:13 AM

In mid-April, sixty-three students from kindergarten through Adult Community Education in the Wells-Ogunquit CSD began receiving letters notifying them that they had placed in the 29th Annual Literary Achievement Awards creative writing contest. Initially 268 students had entered in early March.

Among the winners was senior Sarah Clawson who will receive the top prize of $500 for receiving first place in the 12th grade category.

The writings of contestants are judged at two levels. A large group of in-house judges (teachers and administrators) have the first look at all of the entries. During this stage about half of the entries are eliminated. The remaining entries are presented to a second panel of ‘community’ judges who make the final picks.

Students who received first, second, third place or honorable mention in the various grade levels are invited to receive their prizes and read a portion of their writing before an audience at an awards ceremony to be held April 30th at 6:30 p.m. in the Olenn Auditorium at Wells High School.

First place winners invited to read include Francesca MacEwen (kindergarten), Brandon Talevi (1st grade), Aidan Stockwell (2nd grade), Kayden Springer (3rd grade), Sarah Hayden (4th), Kara Borkowski (5th), Natalie Hanagan (6th), Michael Patnaude (7th), Matthew Chase (8th), Patrick Dinmore (9th), Allison Jarvis (10th), Tamar Cimenian (11th), Sarah Clawson (12th) and Tatjana Doane (Adult Ed). To see a listing of all of those who placed please visit www.k12wocsd.net.

The contest is organized and sponsored by the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District and the Wells Rotary Club. In addition, the Steakhouse in Wells donates gift certificates to those who received Honorable Mentions.

In the photograph are this year’s ‘community judges’ for the 29th Annual Literary Awards Contest. In the front row are Brittany Toth (left) and Diana Abbott. Behind them (l-r) are Mary Goullaud, Jack Ford, Donna Thompson, Josh Lagasse, Joyce Patterson, and John Madden.